Credit: NASA/ Jay Friedlander

The STEREO (Solar Terrestrial Relations Observatory) mission by NASA employs two nearly identical space-based observatories to provide the first-ever stereoscopic measurements to study the Sun and the inner heliosphere. The twin spacecraft were launched in 2006 and STEREO-A is still operational, while contact to STEREO-B was lost in 2014.

From our group Andrea Opitz is a Co-I of the PLASTIC ion plasma experiment and team member in the SWEA electron plasma experiment onboard STEREO.
Karoly Kecskemety is a Co-I of the IMPACT charged particle and magnetic field experiment onboard STEREO (modeling of solar energetic particle events).

Our selected publications related to STEREO

  • Aschwanden, M.J., L.F. Burlaga, M.L. Kaiser, C.K. Ng, D.V. Reames, M.J. Reiner, T.I. Gombosi, T. I., N. Lugaz, W. Manchester, I.I. Roussev, T.H. Zurbuchen, C.J. Farrugia, A.B. Galvin, M.A. Lee, J.A. Linker, Z. Mikić, P. Riley, D. Alexander, A.W. Sandman, J.W. Cook, R.A. Howard, D. Odstrčil, V.J. Pizzo, J. Kóta, P.C. Liewer, J.G. Luhmann, B. Inhester, R.W. Schwenn, S. Solanki, V.M. Vasyliunas, T. Wiegelmann, L. Blush, P. Bochsler, I.H. Cairns, P.A. Robinson, V. Bothmer, K. Kecskeméty, A. Llebaria, M. Maksimovic, M. Scholer, R.F. Wimmer-Schweingruber: Theoretical modeling for the STEREO mission, Space Sci. Rev. 136, 565-604, 2008
  • Galvin A. B., Kistler L., Popecki M., Farrugia C. J., Simunac K., Boehm M., Ellis L., Ellis S., Gaidos J. A., Granoff M., Heirtzler D., King B., Knauss U., Lee M. A., Longworth S., Moebius E., Singer K., Turco S., Vosburyl M., Widholm M., Blush L. M., Karrer R., Bochsler P., Daoudi H., Etter A., Fischer J., Jost J., Opitz A., Sigrist M., Wurz P., Klecker B., Ertl M., Seidenschwang E., Wimmer-Schweingruber R. F., Koeten M., Thompson B., and Steinfeld D. The Plasma and Suprathermal Ion Composition (PLASTIC) investigation on the STEREO observatories Space Science Reviews, vol. 136 (1-4), p437-486, 2008.
  • Kecskemety K., Daibog E.I., Logachev Yu.I., Kota J.: The decay phase of solar energetic particle events, J. Geophys. Res. 114, A06102, 2009
  • Opitz A., Karrer R., Wurz P., Galvin A. B., Bochsler P., Blush L. M., Daoudi H., Ellis L., Farrugia C. J., Giammanco C., Kistler L. M., Klecker B., Kucharek H., Lee M. A., Moebius E., Popecki M., Sigrist M., Simunac K., Singer K., Thompson B., and Wimmer-Schweingruber R. F. Temporal evolution of the solar wind bulk velocity at solar minimum by correlating the STEREO A and B PLASTIC measurements Solar Physics, vol. 256, p365 , 2009: DOI 10.1007/s11207-008-9304-7.
  • Opitz A., Sauvaud J-A., Fedorov A., Wurz P., Luhmann J. G., Lavraud B., Russell C. T., Kellogg P., Briand C., Henri P., Malaspina D. M., Louarn P., Curtis D. W., Penou E., Karrer R., Galvin A. B., Larson D. E., Dandouras I., and Schroeder P. Temporal evolution of the solar wind electron core density at solar minimum by correlating SWEA measurements from STEREO A and B Solar Physics, vol. 266, p369, 2010: DOI: 10.1007/s11207-010-9613-5.
  • Fedorov A., Opitz A., Sauvaud J-A., Luhmann J., Curtis D. W., and Larson D. E. The IMPACT Solar Wind Electron Analyzer (SWEA): Reconstruction of the SWEA transmission function by numerical simulation and data analysis Space Science Reviews, vol. 161 (1-4), p49-62, 2011: DOI: 10.1007/s11214-011-9788-6.
  • Opitz A., Sauvaud J-A., Klassen A., Gomez-Herrero R., Bucik R., Jacquey C., Kistler L. M., Luhmann J. G., Mason G., Kajdic P., and Lavraud B. Solar wind control of the terrestrial magnetotail as seen by STEREO J. Geophys. Res., vol. 119, p6342-6355, A51190, 2014: DOI:10.1002/2014JA019988.


Last updated on July 28th, 2021